Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Heavenly Bolero
Heavenly Bolero
Pattern Number: ccw-bolero
Rating: ***
2.8 (based on 8 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-8 of 8 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Heavenly Bolero Reviewed by Julia Blakeman on 2013-03-12 ***
I had problems making this bolero because row 2 is written badly and it then puts everything else out. If you change the first skip 2 dc to skip 1 dc and then carry on with pattern that should help. Also, the "corners" are the V-stitches so you may find it useful to mark these. This should set you on your way to completing this wonderful pattern. If you're still stuck come find my project on Ravelry - knittinglikemaduk

Heavenly Bolero Reviewed by carol rusk on 2013-01-19 *
This not a pattern for a beginner. Instructions are poorly written. I have spent more time starting over. Going to another pattern.

Heavenly Bolero Reviewed by Lori Wagner on 2011-02-12 *****
LOVE IT!!! Hi! I'm a beginner, my prior project was "Olivia's Shrug" w/modifications. I made this bolero over 1 week, several hours here, there.....
Since Watercolors is no longer available, I substituted Homespun in "pearls" and used Fun Fur "sandstone" for the trim, which blended beautifully with the "pearls" colorway. I used about 1-1/4 skeins of Homespun to complete it, 2 skeins of the Fun Fur
Well, it was challenging for me as a beginner, & I had to rip out rows 2-3-4-5 several times before I finally got the pattern right. I had no clue how those armholes & sleeves were going to go, but I followed the instructions & it came out & everything matched correctly. I made the medium size but extended the sleeves per the instructions for the 1x pattern (they were about elbow length without the additional rows.)
At first I couldn't see the stitch pattern with the Homespun, so I did block it by hovering the steam iron over & stretching it out to dimensions (not ironing on the yarn).
So, it came out BEAUTIFULLY! I got RAVE compliments (& offers to buy it!!) & people
really enjoyed the openwork shell pattern and the fun fur. Hey, even guys complimented it!!
Now to fight off all the requests from others to make for them, because I have a LONG LIST of things to make for ME.
If you found the pattern challenging, please try again, because it's really beautiful. If I made it again, I would make the 1x, because I would like a little more coverage for the front, just to show off the lovely pattern on the front (not because it didn't fit).


Heavenly Bolero Reviewed by Carmen Hoffman on 2010-05-31 ***
The finished bolero deserves a rating of 5. I made it about 1 1/2 yrs, ago. The bolero is absolutely beautiful. I made it in a soft green color, omitting the furry edging, finishing it instead with a reverse single crochet all around. I added 3 buttons of tight double crochets in the round, two layers thick, filling the center opening with a small silver colored, floral patterned shank button . It,s gorgeous! However, the highest rating I could manage for the pattern was a 3. I started this and tore it out at least 4 times. I am an experienced crocheter, have even taught a class and written patterns for myself and friends. The instructions for the yoke are very confusing. I had actually given up on the pattern and started another one. The second pattern was so very similar, that I began to think that it has to be written by the same person. There was just the slightest difference in descriptive wording of the yoke on the second pattern. After ripping it out for the third time I was about to give up on that one also. I stubbornly refused to do so. Comparing the two patterns, that slight difference in wording was just enough to trigger extremely hard sought understanding.
No way should this pattern be rated as easy. When patterns are written for others, they should be easily understood by anyone with the skill level to do the work, not just to be understood by the person writing the pattern.


Heavenly Bolero Reviewed by carole on 2009-05-03 *
I bought the materials for this pattern when it was first introduced about 2 years ago (2007). It still is not done, my crochet teacher could not follow the directions, nor could anyone else who was an experienced crocheter. Also, the yarn is difficult to work with, at least in this pattern. Tried asking Lion for help, all I got was "follow the instructions". If I could do that I would not need help. Very poorly written pattern. Am still working on it and have finally found someone who can follow the directions.

This is by no means an "EASY" pattern and should not be classified as such.

Heavenly Bolero Reviewed by Roberta Rashok on 2009-03-20 *
I had trouble understanding the pattern. I even took it to a crochet instructor and she agrees it is written poorly. I went to another pattern.

Heavenly Bolero Reviewed by janine on 2008-10-25 ***
I started this bolero but got confused about the yoke instructions so didn't think it was easy. I ended up using the yarn for the Matinee jacket instead.

Heavenly Bolero Reviewed by Fides Scassellati on 2008-01-25 *****
This bolero is gorgeous and fun to make. The best part is that there is no sewing of seams required as it is made in one piece! I made one for myself with glitterspun and fun fur, which makes evening wear more elegant. For my sister, I substituted the fun fur trim with a chenille, and it's great for everyday use.

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font