Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Unisex Vest
Unisex Vest
Pattern Number: kwes-vest
Rating: ****
4.0 (based on 8 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-8 of 8 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Unisex Vest Reviewed by delores thompson on 2014-12-10 *
The ribbing is too big and bulky.I don't find this vest attractive at all.It is too short and the sleeve openings are small

Unisex Vest Reviewed by Susan Cisco on 2012-10-19 *****
I made this using Fishermen's wool for my husband. The vest turned out beautifully! I found it easier for me to understand the reverse shaping instructions by writing them out first so I didn't have to try to figure it out as I was knitting. It was a bit of a challenge getting the front band and the button hole alignment just right and I had to take it out and start over a couple of times. I've been knitting since I was 10 years old so I would say this project should be rated Easy instead of Beginner. Thank you for all the free patterns!

Unisex Vest Reviewed by P. A. Clifford on 2011-04-09 *****
I re-wrote this pattern for a worsted weight yarn (it would have been nice if Lionbrand had done this!)for my nephew. I agree, it is not a beginner pattern, though it was easy to knit. The pockets were new for me, but carefully following the instructions got them in. I really like the pattern and the vest came out wonderfully.

Unisex Vest Reviewed by L Hong on 2011-02-28 ***
I worked on this vest over the course of 3-4 yrs! Although all the stitches were easy (knit & purl), I'm a beginner knitting and I wouldn't rate it as beginner. It took me so long because there were many new skills (underarms, pockets, picking up stitches, buttons). I kept putting it down until I could get help. I made it in XL and the arm holes were too tight. Knitting with small needles made it take forever. I do like the functionality and will make another. Hopefully now I'm beginner+ and it won't take so long. Thank you for the pattern.

Unisex Vest Reviewed by Linda Williams on 2011-02-16 ****
I usually crochet, I had some light weight yarn that I could use. Knitted with size 6 & 7 needles. Took me over a month to finish, using black yarn made it diffult to see my mistakes, but would pull out and just redo. I had made 2 sweaters before from the How To Make A Sweater Book that Lion Brand has and thought I would have no problem but seems I did, I rewrote the pattern as I went, seems the writer could have done a much better job,I did not know if I was to do the front band in sections or use a circular needle as I decided to do. This would be a good pattern for Lion Brand to put in a Learn to Knit book giving full details for all stiches used especially for Reverse Shaping for the Right Front, I found little information on the web to explain in detail. I used mattress stich to sew sides, grafting stiches for shoulders, did crochet bind off instead of knit bind off, much easier and also opted for the one row buttonholes. But yea finally finished, husband was pleased. I might do this again since I have the pattern rewritten for myself.

Linda
Jacksonville, FL

Click to zoom

Unisex Vest Reviewed by c mitchell on 2008-12-28 *****
Very easy pattern. Finished in five days. Mods: seamed sides and did armhole band with dpns. Opted to do garter rib at bottom to eliminate any draw. Used one-row buttonholes instead of YOs. Three-ndl BO for shoulders. I was not sure I had enough yarn so put body sts for pocket lining on waste yarn and then worked linings at the very end. (I only had 29" circ for front buttonband which made for VERY cramped sts but it's doable.) Would definitely make again.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Unisex Vest Reviewed by Natasha Patel on 2008-10-23 ****
Can anyone help me with the reverse shaping for the right side front? This is my first time doing this and I need help in how to reverse the left front to the right. Thank you.
Natasha

Unisex Vest Reviewed by ParishSecretary on 2008-04-22 *****
I am a beginner knitter and have already completed the entire back of this vest. I find the sheet with meanings to knitting abbreviations particularly helpful'
This pattern works up fast and is easy to do. I am on the frount pieces now and find I am going right along and enjoying the process.
I knit as a teen, my mom and aunty tried to teach me but the patterns and directions were too difficult. So I quit knitting and have only picked it up now that I am close to 60 years old.
What fun it is to get back to doing this and finding it is so fun and easy to do.
Thanks for the free patters, my gentleman friend will be blessed with my handi-work as soon as I finish this up.
I love your free patterns sight. I'll do more of the great patterns featured here. You make it so simple.
Cathy Dahlstrom
Oneonta New York

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font