Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Harry Potter Wizard Scarf
Harry Potter Wizard Scarf
Pattern Number: kwe-wizardScarf
Rating: ****
3.4 (based on 8 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-8 of 8 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Harry Potter Wizard Scarf Reviewed by karen olney on 2014-12-10 *****
instead of doing the knit one row purl next method, I used knit 5 stitches, purl next five, etc. for each row.

I made this for my niece who now loves the books. I also made one for my husband and myself and will be adding the house patch.

I know my niece will love being able to have the same scarf as Hermione Granger.

Harry Potter Wizard Scarf Reviewed by L Hong on 2011-09-15 *****
I didn't make this scarf yet, but Kathy from my knitting group made it with her daughter and grandaughter. They encouraged me to make one for my co-worker's daughter.

Click to zoom

Harry Potter Wizard Scarf Reviewed by imaseer@comcast.net on 2010-11-19 ***
I agree with the previous posters, with the 4 garter stitches at each end, it does end up rolling over itself and making more of a tube.

I'm hoping that tonight, I'll spray it damp with water and iron it that it will lay flatter.

I also didn't realize (in my excitement) that this is from the earlier movies, the later version, which you can actually purchase from Universal Studios, is mostly just the deep red with smaller gold stripes.

It'll do for what I want, but if I would have thought a little more, I would have done better making my own pattern.

Harry Potter Wizard Scarf Reviewed by Kathryn Hays on 2010-10-15 ***
It is too bad that it turns on itself - with the 4 garter stitches on the outside turning in. Wish I had seen the 22 rows per color comment - that picture did look more authentic! Oh well - the colors are perfect and my little Halloween Harry will be happy enough to have it!

Harry Potter Wizard Scarf Reviewed by LAURA MICHALAK on 2010-09-30 **
I followed this pattern and I wound up with a tube,I was dissapointed, I wanted a flat scarve not a tube.

Harry Potter Wizard Scarf Reviewed by Cathy Murphy on 2010-09-25 ***
I liked the pattern and the 22-row stripe version, but mine ended up twisting upon itself. The first four stitches on either side folded themselves in, and as the scarf got longer, it folded itself in again. The net was that it ended up a long tube-like scarf, and did not lay flat. That was disappointing, but inevitable given the way the pattern is written.

Harry Potter Wizard Scarf Reviewed by GABRIELLE DOOHA CHAMBERS on 2009-12-06 **
While this scarf has the colors down perfectly, for a true HP fan, and for an accurate (according to the books not the movies) looking scarf, each color should only be repeated for 22 rows each not 50 and you should have ten dark stripes and nine light stripes in the end (yes I am a nerdy fan who counted.) I've included a picture I made using this pattern with the aforementioned changes, and even though it's in Halloween colors, people still recognize it as an HP scarf.

Click to zoom

Harry Potter Wizard Scarf Reviewed by on 2008-08-07 ****
These scarves are quite nice. It seems as if scarves 1 and 2 are the older Sorcerer's Stone color block style, whereas 3 and 4 move closer to the newer Prisoner of Azkaban trapped bar style.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font