Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project)
Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project)
Pattern Number: kwe-ellensHat
Rating: *****
4.9 (based on 15 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 15 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project) Reviewed by Nikki Goelz on 2014-10-22 *****
Love, love, love this pattern! It's my go-to pattern for quick and simple hats. You can even embellish it simply with a different ribbing pattern at the bottom.

Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project) Reviewed by Dorothy Torrey on 2012-11-13 *****
I have made hundreds of these hats for friends and to donate to the homeless. It is a wonderfully easy pattern and loved by all who have received them.

Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project) Reviewed by annemarie aggenbacht on 2012-06-22 *****
hi there i love this hat i am goin to knittting this for charity and it is 'n easy beanie for me to knitting and it is one size thad is what i whas looking for and i can knittting this in cirkile and strait needils love the hat from annemarie e aggenbacht from suide africa cape town
:-)

Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project) Reviewed by Sheila Walton on 2011-12-31 *****
I have made many, many of these knit hats!! They are a big hit with all who have received them. I am ready to make another one for a good friend, but I seem to always misplace my directions!! Thanks for keeping this item on-line and accessible for me!

Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project) Reviewed by jan siepert on 2009-10-22 ****
The military accept only 100 per cent wool, so be sure to check the content on the skeins. This is in case of fire, that the hat doesn't melt and stick to their heads.

Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project) Reviewed by Linda Reedy on 2009-07-26 *****
I have made many of Ellen's hats since finding the pattern online. I have made several for my grandson, in fact my daughter said "Please don't make one this year, he has plenty"! They make a great take-along project for dr. visits, riding in the car etc. I have donated hats to friends, family,and the nursing home residents near my home. I received a special request for hats for men for the nursing home. If made with larger needles and heavier yarn they make a great size for the daughter of a friend that wears a choclear implant. I sent several to her school for other children. I love making them and giving them away, the smiles are a great gift for me. Linda

Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project) Reviewed by Kathleen Kelm on 2009-07-24 *****
I have made many of these hats. I recommend putting a stitch marker before the decreases to make the tapering more mindless. I also recommend making them from lots of leftover 100% wool leftover or donated yarns and offering them to mariners and or schools in chilly places. I send the manly colored ones without pompoms to a sailors' charity in Seattle. My sister in NH gives the smaller sizes and less boring colors to her local school for chilly kids. I also send her real wool mittens-the best snowball forming mitten in the world!

Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project) Reviewed by Joyce Cook on 2009-04-28 *****
I have made many of these hats. I do them in black. This color was requested for camouflage reasons. I am doing this project as my part to support our troops. The hats are being distributed through my auxiliary in Margate, Florida. Happy knitting. I would like to see this pattern in crochet. Thank you for sharing. Joyce Cook Joyart77@aol.com

Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project) Reviewed by Lisa Simpson on 2009-04-25 ****
I have made this pattern many times for my son and his friends. Vanna's yarn is perfect for it...it holds up nicely for repeated washings. Only change I made was to extend ribbing for 4 inches...thats my son's preference because it folds over better that way.

Ellen's Knit Hat (SHIPS Project) Reviewed by Patricia L. Pudlock on 2009-04-25 *****
This is a great pattern...thanks for printing it for us. One thing I would like to bring to your attention if you are knitting for the troops...I have seen it stated in quite a few places that the Armed Services would like the hats be made with 100% WOOL as the other types of yarn would BURN easily...and WOOL will not. Thanks again..
Sincerely,
Pat Pudlock

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font