Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Homespun Vest
Homespun Vest
Pattern Number: khs-vest
Rating: ****
4.0 (based on 10 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 10 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Homespun Vest Reviewed by Sandra Robin on 2011-02-04 ****
These instructions are poorly written, as a couple of previous reviewers stated. The stitches are easy, but the directons could be much better. The shaping of the back gave much trouble. 5 experienced knitters gave me 5 different suggestions about what the pattern instructions said.

Homespun Vest Reviewed by rosemary on 2011-01-28 *****
This is my first attempt at knitting a vest. I am not an experienced knitter. Iwould have liked to have the complete instructions for both fronts instead of just the "reverse shaping" direction. but it is a nice little pattern. I didn't put buttons because of my full figure and I needed the warmth for just my shoulders as I have arthritis. I would make another one.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Homespun Vest Reviewed by Marj Rose on 2010-05-12 *****
I and several knitting class friends love this vest..

I will knit it again. thanks for this one.

m rose

Homespun Vest Reviewed by Janice Hills on 2010-04-26 ****
This is not for beginners and is not easy. There aren't any directions for the right front - other than the buttonholes and make it like the left! You need experience in making sweaters/vests to do that. I didn't use the homespun - rather a regular worsted weight yarn. Nice vest - I'm thinking of adapting it to a light weight summer yarn. I'll make it again.

Homespun Vest Reviewed by ann davis on 2010-03-07 **
The directions and corrections for shaping the back are poorly written.

Homespun Vest Reviewed by Ginny Davis on 2010-02-20 *
This pattern was poorly written. It needs more specific directions for the right front. After I finally finished it, the back was way too big. I would not make this again!

Homespun Vest Reviewed by Julie James on 2010-02-09 *****
This makes up very quick and easy and looks great. I used Tudor and the variegated colors turned out so cool. It's a great vest for skirts, slacks or jeans. I used all different novelty buttons which gave it an even more interesting look. I usually wear a size 12 top and the medium size vest fits me perfectly.

Homespun Vest Reviewed by Laurie Calloway on 2009-12-06 ****
Well, I finally finished this vest and I am pleased with the final product. However, as a beginner, I would not call this easy, as listed in the skill level. The directions were fine, until it came time for shaping, especially the back.

Anyway, I did not use five buttons, only four, as I guess I didn't measure correctly.

It still came out well, and I am happy to wear it.

I just needed a lot more help with this "easy" project than I thought I would.

I think this is an easy project for an experienced knitter, however, for a beginner, it is not that easy!

Click to zoom

Homespun Vest Reviewed by Janet Landry on 2008-10-04 *****
I liked this pattern so much that I have made two! It's easy, and very comfortable to wear. It does pill up a bit though. I did one in a "Homespun" solid and one in a variegated color. Both are pretty, but the variegated one's colors on the front do not line up. Probably a simple fix, but I didn't think of it. Highly recommend this pattern and vest!

Homespun Vest Reviewed by Barbara Taylor on 2008-02-06 *****
This is an easy pattern and a great looking vest! It only took me a weekend to make! I love it!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font