Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Family of Mittens
Family of Mittens
Pattern Number: khs-mittens
Rating: ****
4.0 (based on 14 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 14 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Family of Mittens Reviewed by dorothy solkowitz on 2014-02-25 *****
I stopped knitting years ago but started again. The pattern is easy to read and was easy to make.

Family of Mittens Reviewed by Jesse on 2013-10-11 *****
I am just starting to make a pair of these! The pattern is very easy to understand, (even though I am a beginning knitter) I will defiantly be making more of these!

Family of Mittens Reviewed by Bonnie Clarkson on 2011-12-21 ****
The pattern was pretty easy, but I didn't like the thumb. The second mitten I put on a stitch holder and knitted it separate so that the thumb was more separate from the palm.

I am a very loose knitter, so I cast on 25 st and it came out about right. I also used my hand as a guide for length as I knitted.

Click to zoom

Family of Mittens Reviewed by Stephanie Sundberg on 2011-08-22 ****
They're good for beginning knitters, but the thumb is a little too short. Nothing that can't be fixed with a few extra rows.

Family of Mittens Reviewed by caterina campo on 2011-03-15 ****
Simple, quick, and cute. The child size 7-8 fits perfectly on my (tall) six-and-a-half year old, and I added four rows to the thumb.

Family of Mittens Reviewed by jamie kudera on 2011-03-09 ****
I like this pattern, although I agree that Lion's homespun is hard to use on needles this size. I'm trying again with a Michael's yarn that is very similar and it's going better.
I making a second one in the toddler size and am a little confused as to how you start with 25 stitches, then knit 12, make 1, knit 1, make 1, then knit 12. It works with 11 at each end. I'm new to knitting so I may be missing something.
I also thought the thumb was a little small on my first attempt so I may make it bigger this time.

Family of Mittens Reviewed by sandra terry on 2010-12-28 *
very hard to knit with on these size needles

Family of Mittens Reviewed by wanda baker on 2010-12-02 *****
This pattern is fantastic. I have made more mittens than I can remember, using this pattern. The directions are clear, the sizes run true, and homespun yarn is so beautiful! My college age son requested a pair to take with him, he wears them all winter long. I made a scarf to match. I really like this pattern.

As for the reviewer who has trouble with the yarn splitting- maybe your needles are snagging the yarn? I notice that happens with needles that get little nicks or scratches on the tips. Maybe that is the problem.

Family of Mittens Reviewed by Patricia Wyman on 2009-01-17 *
yarn splits and comes apart while knitting. I have made a sweater and mittens and do not like working with it.

Family of Mittens Reviewed by Lisa Wierzbicki on 2008-12-24 ****
I made these for Christmas gifts. Some how the second mitten of every pair I made came out much bigger than the first! It looked like an oven mit!!! But on the other hand (hah hah) it was a pretty easy pattern.

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font