Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Brimmed 'Straw' Hat
Brimmed 'Straw' Hat
Pattern Number: ckc-hat
Rating: ****
4.0 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Brimmed 'Straw' Hat Reviewed by Teresa jDonohue on 2012-06-06 ****
I just finished making this cute hat and am starting a second one. I plan on donating it as a chemo cap. Also am thinking of making one for myself for when we go to the beach. It will roll up nicely in the suitcase and comes out without a wrinkle.

Brimmed 'Straw' Hat Reviewed by Jan Goin on 2011-09-10 **
I followed the recommended number of rows for the hat crown (16) and working to guage in the Lion Brand Cotton I found it to be way too tall. I also worked the flower band without joining it so I could ease it around the crown. Because the hat was already so deep I only did a 3" brim that is worn turned down. Slip stitched the edge to give it a more finished look. I think I am going to have to do like one person did and wash it in hot water to shrink it. I would not make this hat again.

Brimmed 'Straw' Hat Reviewed by DARCY BRYANT on 2010-10-19 ****
I made this but had trouble with the middle motif section, so I just substituted something else. I made it in pink and it looks really neat.

Brimmed 'Straw' Hat Reviewed by Margaret Barncord on 2010-10-16 *****
I made this hat years ago and it was nice. Last week I found it and put it in a hot wash and it shrunk to a perfect fit with a turned up brim and I really like it now.

Brimmed 'Straw' Hat Reviewed by Karen Westlund on 2010-09-27 ****
This hat was fun to make. I found, however, that it was easier to attach the motifs one at a time to the hat and then to the brim using the instructions given. I made the first hat for me as a "tease" and now have made an additional two for friends. I'm also donating two to a Christmas Drive for seniors. What fun!

Brimmed 'Straw' Hat Reviewed by susan trask on 2010-06-21 *****
Very easy pattern, took me only 1 day to finish it. I love how it wears and is nice and cool in a very hot day

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Brimmed 'Straw' Hat Reviewed by Kathy Kelly on 2009-04-25 ****
This turned out great and worked up fast.

I think the suggested hook size is way too small. To get the gauge I had to go up 3 hook sizes to size J.

I used a contrasting color of the hat band and that looks very nice.

Brimmed 'Straw' Hat Reviewed by Helen Stauffer on 2009-04-22 ****
I love this hat! I live in Las Vegas Nevada and we get alot of sun. I made it in ecru and It goes with everything I wear. It is not an easy pattern but if your used to crocheting then you'll do fine. I'm thinking of making another hat in blue.

Brimmed 'Straw' Hat Reviewed by Velma Lindner on 2009-04-07 *****
I have made quite a few of this pattern. My granddaughters wear them at the beach, I wear one in the garden. I will probably make more of them.

Brimmed 'Straw' Hat Reviewed by Dawn Penland on 2008-12-07 ***
Cute hat but I couldn't follow the directions. I messed up the center band joining. I made it for a friend as a chemo cap. It fits her and she says she likes it. I made it in white and she wants to dye it. If I made it again I'd get someone to help me or just do a single crochet band instead of the petal motif.

Click to zoom

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font