Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of All-Occasion Tote Bag
All-Occasion Tote Bag
Pattern Number: ckc-allOccasionTote
Rating: *****
4.2 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
All-Occasion Tote Bag Reviewed by Lauren on 2013-05-03 *****
I really like this tote. I crocheted the body and base in one shot in rounds and then attached the strap on. To prevent the bottom from overstretching I made a lining with pockets. To make the purse extra sturdy the lining was lined with a quilted fabric. I also lined the strap to prevent stretching.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

All-Occasion Tote Bag Reviewed by betty young on 2012-10-11 ****
I noticed that it need more than 3 balls,but great pattern

All-Occasion Tote Bag Reviewed by Gina Mustoe on 2011-06-25 *****
I have made this bag many times in bright colors and given them away as gifts. Love the pattern - easy to do and looks so professionally done.

Easy pattern to follow and I would recommend it to beginners too!

One issue - the strap is a bit too long and it stretches with time...make it shorter than the pattern requires.

All-Occasion Tote Bag Reviewed by dani on 2010-08-15 *****
I found this tote fun to make, I love it's texture and the finished size, which is perfect for holding my yarn and current project - it's also perfect for carrying books or groceries. I chose to use Lion Cotton in Sea Spray for some color, but I failed to make sure the dye lot was the same on all the balls, which means it is a little darker on the bottom. I ended up using about 2-1/2 balls of yarn. I will definitely make this again, the instructions were clear and easy to follow. My mom already wants one!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

All-Occasion Tote Bag Reviewed by Jennifer on 2010-06-03 ****
I had a friend make me one as these and I fell in love with it, when I finally felt like I was ready to tackle this project I dove in and could not stop! I love the bag but do agree with others...the strap is a bit long but I tied a knot in it for the shoulder and untie it when I wear it across body...I am making this for my sister in a blue and will leave the first and last row of dc/rf to avoid covering them when attaching the strap. (I like to attach the strap on the inside)

Click to zoom

All-Occasion Tote Bag Reviewed by Lillian P. Davis on 2010-03-20 *****
I've made this bag twice as gifts and each time it's been happily accepted and well-used, which is the proof that it was both liked and functional. I had no problem fitting the bottom or the strap. I agree that the strap stretched much too long and lined it to prevent that. I also lined the entire bag, adding in side pockets for cell phone/keys etc. It's really an attractive and useful bag.

All-Occasion Tote Bag Reviewed by Irene Fulk on 2009-03-07 *****
I love this tote. I read the reviews before making it, so I knew some of the issues others have had.

I wanted this tote as a summer/travel purse, however I find it impossible to find anything in "hobo"-type handbags, prefering "organizer" handbags. I decided to line this bag and build in pockets for my cell phone, iPod Touch, GPS, camera, etc., and also lined the strap to keep it from stretching.

With the extra lining material, I made a matching zippered makeup case. Then I crocheted a cord and attached a swivel clip for my keychain. I've attached some photos. I'm sure this tote will get a lot of use this summer!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

All-Occasion Tote Bag Reviewed by Becky Grimm on 2008-08-24 ***
I made the two sides and did NOT make the bottom and it makes an adorable purse. I just slip stitched the two pieces together on the wrong side. Looks very cute.
Everyone is right about the strap stretching. It stretches a LOT. I tied a knot in it about shoulder level and it looks like it was meant to be that way (boutiquey).
I am making another for my mom (she fell in love with it)and will make the strap about 1/2 as long as recommended. Also, could NOT get the closure to work, so I just chainstitched about an 18 inch piece, put it through both sides, and tied it. Easy to untie and pull open to get inside. With these changes, I rate the purse a 4 star! Looks like a much harder piece to make than it was, and I get a lot of compliments.

All-Occasion Tote Bag Reviewed by Kelly K Cape on 2008-07-20 ***
I just finished this bag. The strap is too long and stretches longer. The bottom looks funny like it doesnt go with the pattern. It seems like it would have ben easier to do the bobbles on the wrong side since I had to keep pushing them thru to the front. I am going to make it again but in the round with a flatter bottom , shorter straps, and a flat area along the sides. I also put a variety of pockets inside to hold little things.

All-Occasion Tote Bag Reviewed by Cecilia Ranger on 2008-07-06 *****
I made this bag three times. Easy to follow pattern. The second and third times making it, I did it in the round. The strap does stretch, so I made it shorter to accommodate stretching. I used the bag as an everyday handbag and got compliments everywhere.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font