Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Americana Afghan
Americana Afghan
Pattern Number: chs-americanaAfghan
Rating: *****
4.6 (based on 18 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 18 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Americana Afghan Reviewed by Diana Bowen on 2014-03-29 *****
I actually made two wall hanging sized flags using this pattern. They turned out great. I had more trouble with the stars than anything. The proportion seemed a bit off. At first I thought it was because I was making a smaller project but realized that wouldn't matter as long as I used the same hook size for everything. Finally decided to go one hook size smaller with the stars. They looked much better (to me). Used the original stars to make my daughter a Christmas garland. Everyone's happy!

Americana Afghan Reviewed by kathy scheurman on 2012-06-06 *****
It does take along time to finish but came out better than I expected given my beginner status. I did not get to the stars.Used as a fund raiser. Thxs

Americana Afghan Reviewed by cachecrazy11@yahoo.com on 2012-02-12 *****
I am in the process of making this afghan, I've only started on the second stripe, but it's working up very easily. I'm going to try some of the suggestions below - But when I stitched a practice star, even though the directions are super easy to follow, they are going to take a while to complete. I need 100 of them! I think I'm going to look for white star shaped appliques, or make star shaped appliques to then sew onto the field. Love this pattern! I'm an air force veteran, as is my husband, and I have a nephew who is also a marine veteran. My nephew does not know he will be getting one of these afghans.

Americana Afghan Reviewed by hannah greene on 2012-02-12 *****
This was a very easy pattern. It took a long time to make! I started it last summer in order to be done with it in time for a competition i'm entering it in and i needed all that time. The stars were a bit confusing. I still don't understand the pattern. I ended up making stars from a different pattern and sewing them on. I only made 13 and sewed them in a circle like a colonial flag long ago. I like the way it turned out. hannah j.

Americana Afghan Reviewed by nicole on 2012-01-28 *
i completed this ENTIRE BLANKET, the pattern is incorrect.
the AMERICAN FLAG begins with a RED stripe and ends with a RED striped.
this flag tells you to begin with a WHITE, WRONG WRONG WRONG.

Americana Afghan Reviewed by Green Grace on 2012-01-17 *****
Pattern is very easy to follow. Works up quickly. Nice yarn. I have a bigger gauge so I used an extra skein of Deco and Colonial, but it fits my 6'5" husband comfortably. I also wanted 50 stars so I increased the blue to 67 stitches instead of the 60 as in the pattern. The blue does take up a large portion, but I think it looks better than the square that is created with 60 stitches, and there was enough room for all 50 stars. I changed the stars a little. Same pattern, but I used a size F hook and added a slip stitch all the way around the edge for more of a finished look. I slip stitched in each of the 4 stitches up the star point edge, then at the point I would slip stitch, chain 1, then slip stitch back into where the first slip stitch was, then slip stitch in the 4 down and 1 slip stitch in the "corner" all the way around. I attached the stars at each point and a few other points in each star. They don't pull up or anything this way and I am not worried about them coming off. I used a long piece of colonial to do this. A very nice afghan.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Americana Afghan Reviewed by Jennifer Osborne on 2012-01-11 *****
This pattern is very easy to follow and to make. Give yourself some time because its big and a lot of work. The stars take a lot of yarn to attach (or at least for me) so leave yourself a lot when you fasten off. Also, do yourself a favor and lay the afghan out before you start attaching the stars. You don't want to attach them to the wrong side and then have to undo them and it again. Oh yea that was me. But its warm and beautiful and my mom loved it as her Christmas gift.

Click to zoom

Americana Afghan Reviewed by Julie Wilson on 2011-07-20 *****
This pattern was so easy to follow. It turned out beautiful. I can't beleive that I made something that actually looked like the pictures. My family loves it!

Americana Afghan Reviewed by Julie Humpherys on 2010-10-29 *****
I love this pattern. I've made four afghans. They make wonderful charity auction items especially in an election year. East to make and beautiful.

The hats make great chemo caps and can be made with any color of Homespun Yarn.

Americana Afghan Reviewed by Jodi Johnson on 2010-06-29 ****
Made this for my fiance, who is an Army veteran. He loved it and everyone has been giving me compliments. I used Candy Apple Red for the red stripes - I just liked how it looked. I did not do the stars as I have tendency to be very messy in my sewing.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font