Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Big Granny Square Afghan
Big Granny Square Afghan
Pattern Number: cctq-bigGrannySquareAfghan
Rating: *****
4.9 (based on 9 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-9 of 9 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Big Granny Square Afghan Reviewed by MARY SHUPINSKI on 2014-09-25 *****
I made this for a wedding gift for my cousin.I did change the colors and pattern but the Granny square was still there.She absolutely loved it.The pattern is so easy,I'm planning on making another now that the weather is getting cooler.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Big Granny Square Afghan Reviewed by Jodi Lynn Wisneski on 2012-03-05 *****
I adore this afghan! I only wish that Lion Brand hadn't discontinued Chenille Thick and Quick :( oh, the fortune I have spent on Ebay buying this stuff! I made this afghan in Antique Homespun (again, discontinued...) and did the border in Midnight Blue and Burgundy Chenille. It is SO soft and luxurious, I made it extra big to cover my queen size bed, the thing must weigh 30 pounds. It is actually almost too warm to sleep under. You could probably just make it with Homespun and try to use another contrasting type of yarn to do the border, it just was nice to have coordinating colors! Despite the fact the Chenille was discontinued I still highly recommend this easy,gorgeous afghan!

Big Granny Square Afghan Reviewed by Beverly Stanfield on 2010-11-26 *****
I made this afghan as a birthday gift for my dad. He loved it, and I really like the way it turned out, too. The yarn is so nice and soft (Homespun and Quick & Thick Chenille). It took me about 3 weeks (on and off) to make it, but I thought it was pretty easy to make.

Thanks again for the free pattern!

Click to zoom

Big Granny Square Afghan Reviewed by Vijaya on 2009-05-13 *****
I really love this pattern! It was my first Afghan and I really liked that it was completed in a couple of days! (Days off of course!)
This pattern makes something as traditional as an afghan modern and trendy.
It's an heirloom I will be proud to pass down!

Big Granny Square Afghan Reviewed by Sharon Clark on 2009-02-14 *****
Fun and easy. I've made lots of afghans. This one was great because you don't have to keep track of stitches as you watch TV, just keep going around the square!

Big Granny Square Afghan Reviewed by marinagee@live.com on 2008-11-21 *****
So easy! My first attempt at crochet. I have made three more in different yarn (just adjust the hook size to the recommendation on the label). I used Pound of Love in pink & white for a baby blanket & made booties & hat (from this website too). You can watch tv & just do this one - very relaxing.

Big Granny Square Afghan Reviewed by Carrie Coombs on 2008-11-14 *****
I have made this afghan several times and have changed the width of the different colors with great results. It is an easy and quick pattern to use.

Big Granny Square Afghan Reviewed by Denise Y. Rucker on 2008-08-16 *****
I have made this afghan several times for gifts. I use ombre colors for the center and repeat three rows of double crochet stitch for the border of each color of the center until it is large enough for a cover for a full-size bed. The cover is then personalized by the edge/trim that I use. I personally like the shell edge best but when I make it for a male I select a more subdued pattern. Everytime that I have been working on this afghan someone asks me to make them one!

Big Granny Square Afghan Reviewed by Dana Jetton on 2008-07-09 ****
I used this pattern to make a small throw for my grandmother, and she loved it! It is very easy and looks impressive when completed. Also, once the first two rounds are done, it could be a great project for anyone who needs very simple, repetitive tasks.
I played with the colors and textures before I started and found that you could use almost anything to create a great looking throw.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font