Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Heirloom Baby Afghan and Hat and Sweater Set
Heirloom Baby Afghan and Hat and Sweater Set
Pattern Number: cbs-babyHeirloomSet
Rating: ****
4.1 (based on 9 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-9 of 9 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Heirloom Baby Afghan and Hat and Sweater Set Reviewed by Jody Widner on 2011-03-13 ****
I did find an error with the hat pattern but it was pretty flagrant and an easy thing to correct on the fly. I have finished the afghan and am VERY happy with the way it turned out. Like the other craftsman who posted a photo of her finished product I too had to take some liberties with the afghan border. After conferring with the support team here and fussing with the border for days I finally decided to get as close as I could (can't see the border very well in the illustration). One thing that could help is a close up photo of each section or a hand drawn stitch diagram like they used to use with doily and table cloth patterns. Still working on the sweater and so far it is going very fast - still haven't quite figured out the flowers but that is for another day!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Heirloom Baby Afghan and Hat and Sweater Set Reviewed by Traci on 2010-11-25 *
This pattern is flawed and confusing. Even an expert yarn worker would have issue with this. I do not recommend this pattern at all.

Heirloom Baby Afghan and Hat and Sweater Set Reviewed by Lillian P. Davis on 2010-07-04 *****
I made the sweater and hat five years ago for a friend's baby, who absolutely loved it, and used it even when her daughter was outgrowing it! She is now using it for her second baby. Both babies were big, but the sweater fit without any problem, and the hat was actually a little big.

Heirloom Baby Afghan and Hat and Sweater Set Reviewed by Mariel Sinhal on 2010-03-05 ****
This sweater was easy to make and cute BUT I found the body too short and had to add some inches after I had finished it. If I were to make it again, I would add a few inches to the body to make it a bit longer. The arms were fine.

Heirloom Baby Afghan and Hat and Sweater Set Reviewed by Sarah HOLLENBECK on 2009-07-15 *****
Although this pattern set was a lot of work, I am very pleased with the results! Since I made this for a new baby boy, I chose to forgo the flowers on the hat & sweater. The colors I used were Pastel Green & Baby White Pompadour (both in Baby Soft). Since I had a bit of yarn left over, I found a pattern for crocheted baby booties and tailored them to match the rest of the set. I can't wait to give this away to my expectant friend!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Heirloom Baby Afghan and Hat and Sweater Set Reviewed by Amy Hannum on 2009-04-22 ****
I made the hat & sweater. Like the other reviewer, I attached one flower to each the hat and sweater so it wasn't "too much". Very sweet & have gotten tons of compliments. I made it for my 6 month old who is off the height/weight charts though & it pulls at the chest & the hat doesn't fit. So, on to the next one for her! :)

Click to zoom

Heirloom Baby Afghan and Hat and Sweater Set Reviewed by Amanda Webster on 2009-03-11 ****
It is GREAT pattern to start with for first time sweater- makers! I loved it. My hat was different, by choice, but the whole set looked adorable, great idea for gift giving!!!

Heirloom Baby Afghan and Hat and Sweater Set Reviewed by Jenny Harford on 2008-09-29 *****
I made the jacket and hat only, in lilac with one lemon yellow flower on each. The new mom loved it.

Heirloom Baby Afghan and Hat and Sweater Set Reviewed by Kay D. Morrison on 2008-08-09 *****
Needed a quick gift, so I only made the hat. It was so easy and was adorable ! I added a few more flowers, just for fun. I used yellow embroidery floss for the flower centers (made French knots). A fun project and was very much appreciated by the new mom.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font