Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Urban Wrap
Urban Wrap
Pattern Number: 997
Rating: ***
2.7 (based on 23 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 23 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Urban Wrap Reviewed by Denise Weik on 2014-06-30 ***
I liked this pattern, found stitch boring so I changed the pattern. The first 2 rows and the last 2 rows of the back and each front piece are done in (80 stitches for the back) HDC, but the rest is done in a "forget me not" stitch which is, chain 3 on last HDC turn, do 2 DC in same starting stitch, and skip to 3rd stich from starting chain, then in same stitch, 1 sc, 2 dc skip to 3rd stitch and repeat to end of first row, you should end on a single crochet, chain 3 and turn start over from begining. I made each front piece 35 stitches wide.
I build the collar up with 2 rows of HDC and one row of 'forget me knot' stich connect down the front of each side of the opening. This gives the piece pazazz.
All done (9 skeins)in Lion brand homestyle, I have made 5 of these friends love them.

Click to zoom

Urban Wrap assembly instruction in knit pattern 1113 Reviewed by Susan Lou on 2013-02-11 *****
I found the assembly of this pattern confusing and it seems that many others did too. When I printed the crochet instructions I also printed the instructions for the kint pattern too. In my frustration I was flipping pages and realized there are assembly instructions included in the knit version that aren't in the crochet version. The knit pattern is no.1113. Check there ...... VERY helpful.

Urban Wrap Reviewed by SHARON BRUNDIGE on 2013-02-06 *****
I just finished this and love it! The back has 68 stitches and the front 62. I crocheted 80 rows for the back and 40 for each front panel. Only the last 4 rows for the front panels are used to make the curved neck edge. Also, the right side becomes the left because of keeping the row count accurate. I used Homespun from my stash that I bought over 10 years ago so don't really know how much was used. I had a lot of it that was already crocheted up for an afghan that never was finished. This pattern is actually written correctly and an advanced beginner can figure out the details not given in the pattern. It is worth taking the time to do that. Other people's comments helped me so hope my comments will help someone else.

Urban Wrap Reviewed by judi on 2012-10-15 *
crochet this entire pattern and then ripped it out. came out too large and very unflattering

Urban Wrap Reviewed by kathryn krieser on 2012-09-20 **
most people that have written a comment had concerns with the pattern. it is hard to understand mainly because you cant get enough info off of the picture there needs to be dimensions written out and a hand written pic for all sections. most people said that i dont know why nobody has added it yet. i would give this a high rating the wrap looks so beautiful but bc of the pattern it has a low rating. i wish someone would fix it

Urban Wrap Reviewed by mary hoechbauer on 2012-02-10 **
As much as I tried, and I'm pretty good at crocheting things, the picture alone does not help with the instructions. There are no sketches or drawings on how to put this together and the directions are not too clear to me. I would like to see this re-written with a little more detail.

Urban Wrap Reviewed by Vickie Hensley on 2011-02-09 **
I just completed the back of this wrap, but upon reading all the negative reviews I'm very hesitant if I should continue on with the front sides. The pattern I wish had a diagram of how to put the pieces together, right now I'm still wondering how to do so but will have to figure it out once I get the fronts made if I do decide to go further with it. I am making mine with Home Spun (NOUVEAU). This yarn is beautiful and love the softness but have to say it is difficult to crochet with, the fibers split so easlily and very hard to see the stitches when working a piece.

Urban Wrap Reviewed by cjensen on 2010-09-28 *****
I made this pattern a few years ago, I have never had more compliments on any other project. I just went online to reprint the pattern to make for some friends for Christmas. I found it easy (actually a little boring to make) I like intricate patterns but the result has been so well received I will make it again. I like the idea of adding a hood or maybe changing out the stitch. I am very tall so I added to the length. I wear it with the right side tossed over the left shoulder and fastened with a hand carved shawl pin.

Urban Wrap Reviewed by Suzanne Smith on 2010-08-31 **
I love the look, but not the process. I agree with an earlier reviewer -- this yarn knits better than it crochets. After finally loosening up my tension, I found it fairly easy to crochet, but after several inches, I find that the garment will be too heavy for North Carolina winters. I've pulled it out and am making a shawl.

Urban Wrap Reviewed by christine workman on 2010-05-02 *
I am advanced crocheter and found this pattern a pain.
It is not easy to figure out what should be done with the front, more specific instructions would be appreciated. Rather than take it apart totally I made it narrower in front and without the "shaping" and instead put it together at the top with a raglan look Rebecca

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font