Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Urban Wrap
Urban Wrap
Pattern Number: 1113
Rating: ***
2.9 (based on 13 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 13 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Urban Wrap Reviewed by Glennis Farmer on 2014-05-08 *****
To stop the curl, crochet a 3 or 4 row of front and back post stitch all the way around after finished knitting Or Crochet 3 or four rows of half crochet. Either looks good.
If you don't crochet, plan a rib of 2 knit 2 purl all the way around for about 6 rows on bottoms and 2 purl 2 knit 2 purl up opening and neck as you go.
Any of these will look really great.
I'm doing this in Homespun Painted Desert with crochet front & back Post Stitch.
Will send picture when finished.

Urban Wrap Reviewed by Jean Lumpkin on 2014-01-06 **
I wish I had read these comments before I knit this. It curls terribly and is unwearable. I cut the pattern down a bit as I am a size 6. It is still big, but OK as far as size. I am thinking about sewing a wide ribbon or tape to the underside to see if that helps the curl but that seems like a lot of extra work. I haven't knitted or crocheted anything in 40 years so I am relearning. I liked the look of the crocheted version but I found it too hard to relearn crocheting with that kind of yarn - hard to see the stitchesn the dark green.

Urban Wrap Reviewed by Sheilah Link on 2013-01-24 ****
I dropped down one needle size. Also am adding 2 rows of DC around to take care of curl. Wish I had read of the problems first. I would have slipped the first stitch as if to purl to flatten the edge. Am happy with my results.

Urban Wrap - Stockinette's going to curl Reviewed by on 2012-11-02 **
Thanks to all the reviewers who have warned beginners about this pattern. Stockinette stitch will always curl and your finished product won't look anything like this picture (which is clearly crocheted, btw). Garter stitch (knitting all rows) is one possible solution, but it takes more yarn than stockinette. How much more? Sorry, I dunno. Another possibility is to garter stitch the first and last few stitches of each row (leaving the rest in stockinette), which also eliminates the curled edges.

I consider myself and advanced beginner and I like this pattern, so I will experiment and try to make it. I'll post a picture if my results aren't too embarrassing. :) Wish me luck!

Urban Wrap Reviewed by RuthAnn Hines on 2011-03-02 ****
I'm finishing this with a crochet edge so that it lays flat as I like the looks. I used larger needles to knit it. It fits me fine. I wear it loose or with a belt. I don't know how to put a picture, but when I finish it I'll try to send a picture

Ruth Ann

Urban Wrap Reviewed by Nancy Schrock on 2010-02-03 *
The pattern as written is at best a one star due to the many problems noted. I knitted this one a couple of years ago and it was not wearable. Recently, I sewed up the side seams and am trying to crochet around the edges. It should not be given multiple stars if the pattern has to be significantly altered to be workable. We trust these patterns to work as is, especially when labeled beginner or advanced beginner.

Urban Wrap Reviewed by Judith R. Powers on 2009-02-28 *****
I solved the problem with the edge curling by slipping first stitch knit wise and knitting all rows. Also, I am usually a 1x or xl but made in the smaller size which is ample. I used the cable cast on because it is much more even. It really is cute this way and have gotten many compliments. Around the neck I picked up and knitted a few extra rows to make a band. Next one, I will do the same down the front.

Urban Wrap Reviewed by Sally Haston on 2008-12-29 *****
Based on the reviews I used a garter stitch to keep it from curling. I double crocheted three rows around the edges where the "sleeve" would be (I wanted longer sleeves but no added width) and tapered down to one row of double crochet down the rest of the side and around the neck and front and bottom edges. I loosely closed the side by sewing 2 decorative buttons on each side. I knitted 2 pockets and sewed them on each front.

I love it. I wear it around the house and to shopping. Have had lots of compliments.
Sally

Urban Wrap Reviewed by Barbara on 2008-10-27 ****
You are better off crocheting this garmet.
That is my experiance. First I knit it and it curled up like a cinnamon stick. Took it apart and used the crochet pattern. Much nicer. No curl.
I think the picture is crochet.

Urban Wrap Reviewed by Sharon Keever on 2008-09-30 ***
Stockinette stitch curls. Period. That's the nature of the stitch. If you don't want it to curl, use garter stitch or a ribbed edging.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font