Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Shawl Collar Cardigan
Shawl Collar Cardigan
Pattern Number: 1318
Rating: ****
3.2 (based on 10 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 10 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Shawl Collar Cardigan Reviewed by Loretta Werth on 2013-01-09 ****
I've made this sweater twice. I used bigger needles and a thicker yarn both times. The first time it was way to large, the second time just right. I found a little confusion on starting the collar but after a few retry's it was simple enough. I really like this pattern. It is very fexible and makes up nicely.

Shawl Collar Cardigan Reviewed by Nichole Joslin on 2012-10-07 ***
While my sweater is coming out beautifully, I found some of the instructions very difficult to follow (most particularly around the pockets and the shoulder shaping for the front).

I wish that they would break those particular instructions up a bit more, or clarify them a little. I also wish that they would add in what the finished lengths would be next to the bust sizes. You can figure it out by looking at the diagrams, but I think it would be helpful, too, to include such numbers along with the finished bust size.

Aside from that, it's a lovely pattern.

Shawl Collar Cardigan Reviewed by Mary Jane Wormstead on 2011-11-21 ***
Instructions are very hard for me to understand. I'm almost done with the front. I hope the whole sweater turns out ok.

Shawl Collar Cardigan Reviewed by Emma Rock on 2010-08-22 **
I am a very experienced knitter and am almost finished with this sweater. I like the sweater design,but the pattern is very poorly written. I can figure it out, but I believe that a newer knitter would have a lot of trouble with this pattern. The decreasing for the two fronts is very confusing. It would be helpful if the pattern included the number of stitches after decreases/increases completed, especially when continuing the collar stitches on each front. I may rewrite the pattern if I make it again. Lion Brand should rewrite it.

Shawl Collar Cardigan Reviewed by Gillian McMullen on 2010-02-20 ****
I'm making this cardigan in Jiffy "Country Green" - the yarn is so beautiful. I've altered the pattern to add a cabled band down the middle of each front panel, aligned with the pockets. I'll post images when it's done. I found the pattern a little difficult to follow because some of the instructions are a bit ambiguous - ended up unpicking bits here and there. But it's looking lovely so far.

Shawl Collar Cardigan Reviewed by Donna Wetmore on 2009-07-09 *****
I made this sweater for 5 different people last year as a Christmas present. They all loved it and said it was the first thing they reached for when coming home in the evening. I made it according to the directions the first time and then changed it to have no side seams, then tried again knitting from the top down in order to have no side or sleeve seams. I did it in Homespun yarn for some and also one in Jiffy yarn. Have the yarn to make myself one for next season.

Shawl Collar Cardigan Reviewed by c mitchell on 2008-06-29 ****
I made this quite some time back but don't recall any pattern issues save for the decs being reversed (notified lionbrand and they agreed). I used a different weight yarn than the pattern called for so ended up reworking the entire pattern to achieve new numbers.

I didn't like working the front bands along with the front pieces as I'd have preferred more tension which comes with a smaller st sz (working them together made the band edges elongate). I worked the lower edge ribbing by P'ing the WS so the draw was minimal. I opted for short rows for the shoulder shaping and 3-ndl BO.

The sleeves came out a tad short but given the sweater was already assembled I just cut off the ribbing and rebuilt the sleeves back down, adding more length and cuffs. I also made the sweater a bit longer and added a tie belt (w/loops in the side seams). I was extremely pleased with how it seamed together, esp the sleeve cap/armscye.

The FO fit fabulously. As much as I loved the sweater I didn't care for the color on me so gifted it to a friend. I intend on making this sweater again and have a friend who plans to make it, as well.

**********

Jan '09. I just made another one of these, but used a yarn that gave me pattern gauge (unlike the previous version). I opted to omit the side seams thereby working the entire body in one piece. Finished in six days and the person who requested I make this for them described it as 'perfect!'

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Shawl Collar Cardigan Reviewed by paula gantz on 2008-08-04 ****
This sweater turned out just as it looks in the picture, wonderfully warm and very sophisticated. It knitted up quickly; the pattern was easy to follow although some of the instructions could have been slightly more explicit. I would definitely knit it again.

Shawl Collar Cardigan Reviewed by Teri Stubits on 2008-06-04 *
I love this cardigan, but the pattern is not easy to follow and seems to be incomplete at times. After three tries, I've given up.

Shawl Collar Cardigan Reviewed by lou hearnesberger on 2008-04-12 **
I feel like I'm an intermediate knitter, but this pattern was difficult for me. The terms were unclear, and I didn't feel it was easy to understand. Some of the steps, in my opinion, weren't as complete as they should have been.
The photos of this sweater don't look anything like the sample Lion Brand has shown. I always have to make any pattern "my own". I put side slash pockets on it, and I didn't use any buttons.
I used Lion's "Homespun" and I think it turned out great!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font